2014 PEN Literary Award Winners Announced

In News by Dennis Abrams

The 2014 PEN Literary Award winners have been announced.

By Dennis Abrams

pen america 2013PEN American Center, the largest branch of the world’s leading literary and human rights organization, today announced the winners of the 2014 PEN Literary Awards.

This year’s recipients include, among others, poet Frank Bidart for his body of work, playwright David Rabe for his contribution to American drama, and journalist and cultural critic James Wolcott for his collection of essays.

“Celebrating the written word is an essential part of defending it,” said PEN President Peter Godwin, “and it is through PEN’s literary awards that we continue to honor some of the most exceptional books and bodies of work that free expression makes possible. We are so grateful to our awards judges, all of whom are writers or literary figures themselves. The care they have taken in the judging process is reflected in their final decisions. This year’s award winners include both emerging and distinguished writers and cover a spectrum of genres. PEN is proud to recognize the achievements of these diverse literary voices.”

This year’s winners include:

PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay:
Critical Mass (Doubleday), James Wolcott

PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award:
High Price (Harper), Dr. Carl Scott

PEN Open Book Award (For an exceptional book-length work of literature by an author of color):
domina Un/Blued (Tupelo Press), Ruth Ellen Kocher
Cowboys and East Indians (FiveChapters Books), Nina McConigley

PEN/Jacqueline Bogard Weld Award for Biography:
Holding On Upside Down: The Life and Work of Marianne Moore (Farrar, Straus & Giroux), Linda Leavell

PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing:
League of Denial (Crown Archetype), Mark Fainaru-Wada & Steve Fainaru

PEN/Steven Kroll Award for Picture Book Writing:
The King of Little Things (Peachtree Publishers), Bill Lepp

PEN Award for Poetry in Translation:
Diaries of Exile by Yannis Ritsos (Archipelago), Karen Emmerich & Edmund Keeley

PEN Translation Prize:
Autobiography of a Corpse, Sigizmund Krzhizhanovsky (New York Review Books), Joanne Turnbull and Nikolai Formozov

The winner of the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction will be announced at the Awards Ceremony, to be held in New York City on Monday, September 29.

To see the complete list of winners click here.

About the Author

Dennis Abrams

Dennis Abrams is a contributing editor for Publishing Perspectives, responsible for news, children's publishing and media. He's also a restaurant critic, literary blogger, and the author of "The Play's The Thing," a complete YA guide to the plays of William Shakespeare published by Pentian, as well as more than 30 YA biographies and histories for Chelsea House publishers.