Yale Awards Nine $150,000 New ‘Global Literary Prizes’

In News by Dennis Abrams

By Dennis Abrams

The Huffington Post reports that James Salter, Tom McCarthy and Adina Hoffman are among nine writers who are $150,000 dollars richer thanks to the Donald Windham-Sandy M. Campbell Literature Prize, announced yesterday at Yale University.

The prizes are among the highest paid in American Literature. The press release describes the awards as, “unprecedented in magnitude and scope, reaching across the globe to support writers in the practice of their art and to celebrate their literary accomplishments. The prizes recognize English-language writers at all stages of their careers for outstanding achievement in the fields of fiction, non-fiction and drama.”

“Yale is a place that hopes to inspire and recognize greatness in every field. The Windham Campbell Prizes allow us to fulfill that ambition in the field of world literature in ways we are only beginning to understand,” said President-elect Salovey.”

Writers do not apply for the prize themselves. Experts in the fields are asked to submit names for consideration to a three-tiered selection process, which takes about nine-months to complete.

In the last phase of the process, a selection committee meets at Yale to name up to nine writers to receive prizes. In addition to a citation and a prize diploma, recipients are each awarded $150,000 to support their writing.

Winners must receive their awards in person at a ceremony at Yale in September and take part in a three-day literary festival celebrating their work. The Windham Campbell literary festival will take place September 10–13 in New Haven, CT.

“I look forward to the dialogue the winners will inspire on the Yale campus and around the world; we will learn much from our prize-winners, particularly in these first years of awarding the prize,” said President-Elect Salovey.

The full list of winners:


  • James Salter, American author
  • Tom McCarthy, British novelist
  • Zoe Wicomb, South African-born novelist


  • Adina Hoffman, American essayist
  • Jonny Steinberg, South African writer
  • Jeremy Scahill, National Security Correspondent for The Nation


  • Naomi Wallace, American playwright
  • Stephen Adly Guirgis, American playwright, co-artistic director of LAByrinth Theater Company
  • Tarell Alvin McCraney, American playwright, member of Steppenwolf Theater Company
About the Author

Dennis Abrams

Dennis Abrams is a contributing editor for Publishing Perspectives, responsible for news, children's publishing and media. He's also a restaurant critic, literary blogger, and the author of "The Play's The Thing," a complete YA guide to the plays of William Shakespeare published by Pentian, as well as more than 30 YA biographies and histories for Chelsea House publishers.