Ian McEwan to Be Awarded 2011 Jerusalem Book Prize

In What's the Buzz by Edward Nawotka

By Edward Nawotka

Ian McEwan

Professor Menahem Ben-Sasson, President of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, has announced that Ian McEwan will be awarded the Jerusalem Prize during this year’s Jerusalem International Book Fair, which takes place from February 20-25.

The Jerusalem Prize is awarded biennially to a writer whose work best expresses and promotes the idea of “freedom of the individual in society.” It is considered Israel’s top literary award for foreign writers and carries a cash prize of $10,000.

Previous winners include: Bertrand Russell (first winner, 1963), Simone de Beauvoir (1975), Milan Kundera (1985), Mario Vargas Llosa (1995), Susan Sontag (2001), Arthur Miller (2003), Haruki Murakami (2009) and several more who were awarded the Jerusalem Prize later received the Nobel Prize for Literature. Among them include: Bertrand Russell , Octavio Paz, V. S. Naipaul, Mario Vargas Llosa and J. M. Coetzee.

About the Author

Edward Nawotka

A widely published critic and essayist, Edward Nawotka serves as a speaker, educator and consultant for institutions and businesses involved in the global publishing and content industries. He was also editor-in-chief of Publishing Perspectives since the launch of the publication in 2009 until January 2016.