German Book Prize: 180 Novels Submitted by 106 Publishers

In News by Porter Anderson

Some 180 titles have been submitted for this year’s German Book Prize, established to ‘draw attention beyond national borders’ to German fiction.

Jury members for the 2024 German Book Prize are, from left, Gerrit Bartels, Klaus Nüchtern, Regina Moths, Natascha Freundel (chair), Torsten Hoffmann, Magda Birkmann, and Marianna Lieder. Image: Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels, Christoph Jakob

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

Ten Submitting Publishers are in Switzerland
Administrators of the German Book Prize report that the 2024 program has has 180 novels submitted by a large number of publishers: 106 presses in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland have put forward this round of submissions.

Among these publishers, 78 are in Germany, 18 are in Austria, and 10 are in Switzerland.

Our readership is familiar with the €25,000 (US$26,834) German Book Prize for fiction, awarded by the Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels, the foundation of Germany’s publishers and booksellers association.

Tonio Schachinger was named the 2023 winner of the German Book Prize in October for his novel Echtzeitalter (Real Agein a presentation at the Kaisersaal of the Frankfurt Römer, two days before the start of Frankfurter Buchmesse.

In addition to the winning author’s €25,000 purse, each of five finalists receives €2,500 (US$2,683) in this award program.

Of the titles submitted for this year:

  • 91 are from the current spring program
  • 76 will be released in the autumn
  • 13 were published last autumn

Each publisher was allowed to submit a maximum of two titles that were or will be published between October 2023 and 17 September 2024, when the shortlist will be announced. In addition, they could each recommend up to five further titles. This year, the list of recommendations included 116 novels. The jury may request titles from this list for inclusion in the selection process.

The 2024 Jury

During their first joint meeting, members of the jury have appointed Natascha Freundel as their speaker.

The jury also includes:

  • Gerrit Bartels, Der Tagesspiegel
  • Magda Birkmann, independent literary mediator and bookseller
  • Torsten Hoffmann, University of Stuttgart
  • Marianna Lieder, independent critic
  • Regina Moths, Literatur Moths bookshop
  • Klaus Nüchtern, Falter magazine

The jury selects the novel of the year through a multiple-stage process.

August 20, it will announce the 20 nominated titles. From that longlist, the jurors will then select six titles for the shortlist, which will be released on September 17.

Those six authors will only find out which of them has won the German Book Prize at the award ceremony itself, on the evening of 14 October 2024, again two days prior to the start of Frankfurter Buchmesse (this year October 16 to 20).

The German Book Prize is awarded by the Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels, the Foundation for Book Culture and the Promotion of Reading of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association.

The main sponsor of the German Book Prize is the Deutsche Bank Stiftung, Deutsche Bank Foundation, and Frankfurter Buchmesse and the city of Frankfurt am Main are also partners.

The television network Deutsche Welle supports the German Book Prize in its media activities both at home and abroad.

More from Publishing Perspectives on the German Book Prize is here, and on publishing and book awards in general is here. More on the German book market is here.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter

Porter Anderson has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with, CNN International, and CNN USA. As an arts critic (Fellow, National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.