European Union Prize for Literature Names Its 2024 Nominees

In News by Porter AndersonLeave a Comment

The European Union Prize for Literature names 13 authors—each from a different EU country—whose works ‘represent the richness of literary expression across Europe.’

Snowfall on January 17 at Brussels’ headquarters of the European Union. Image – Getty iStockphoto: Alexandros Michailidis

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

A Winner Is To Be Named on April 4
As Publishing Perspectives readers know, the European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) recognizes emerging fiction writers from the bloc and beyond, encompassing the 41 countries participating in the Creative Europe program of the European Union.

The prize thus recognizes 41 outstanding new literary talents across a cycle of three years. Its program is intended to encourage the circulation of literature within Europe and encourage greater interest in non-national literary works.

Following changes in 2022 to the overall organization of the prize—Publishing Perspectives readers followed these adjustments—a seven-member European jury now awards one overall winner accompanied by five special mentions each year.

Today in Brussels (February 29), the program has named its 13 nominees for the 2024 edition of the prize, this being one-third of the three-year cycle of awards in the redesigned format. These authors and their novels were nominated by national entities which are knowledgeable about the literary scenes in their respective countries and accustomed to promoting their own literature abroad.

European Union Prize for Literature: 2024 Nominees

• Albania: Rita Petro, Lindur së prapthi, publisher: Onufri
• Bulgaria: Todor Todorov, Хагабула, publisher: Janet 45
• Denmark: Theis Ørntoft, Jordisk, publisher: Gyldendal
• Germany: Deniz Utlu, Vaters Meer, publisher: Suhrkamp
• Hungary: Puskás Panni, Megmenteni bárkit, publisher: Magvető
• Iceland: María Elísabet Bragadóttir, Sápufuglinn, publisher: Una útgáfuhús
• Latvia: Daina Tabūna, Raganas, publisher: Ascendum
• Malta: Aleks Farrugia, Ir-Re Borg, publisher : SKS
• The Netherlands: Sholeh Rezazadeh, Ik ken een berg die op me wacht, publisher: Ambo|Anthos
• Portugal: Gabriela Ruivo, Lei da gravidade, publisher: Porto Editora
• Serbia: Bojan Krivokapić, Vila Fazanka, publisher: Areté
• Slovenia: Tina Vrščaj, Na klancu, publisher: Cankarjeva založba
• Tunisia: Arbia Braham, Jebel El Milh, publisher: Editions Arabesques

The next step in the process for this program is for a seven-person jury to read excerpts of the 13 works nominated from their respective nations and to choose one winner and five runners-up for this year’s round.

The winner and those five honorees are to be named on April 4 at Brussels’ Place de l’Europe in the city’s book fair.

Jurors on the panel this year are:

  • Andrei Kurkov
  • Elena Loewenthal
  • Kostas Spatharakis
  • Daniel Medin
  • Aurélie Bontout Roche
  • Raluca Selejan
  • Tauno Vahter

Leadership figures at each of the three organizations that sponsor the program hav contributed a comment on the release of the 13 nominees for this year.

Iliana Ivanova

From Iliana Ivanova, the European commissioner for innovation, research, culture, education, and youth, is quoted, saying, “The nominees for the European Union Prize for Literature—13 voices from 13 countries—represent the richness of literary expression across Europe.

“I congratulate all nominees, wish them all success in the final round, and look forward to congratulating the winners on April 4.

One thing is certain: European literature and its remarkable diversity have already won. We will celebrate it soon with the Day of European Authors on March 25.”

Ricardo Franco Levi

Ricardo Franco Levi, president of the Federation of European Publishers, says, “One part of Europe’s wealth is the abundance of languages read all over the region.

“Thanks to the EUPL, professionals all over the world have the chance to discover new literary talents. On behalf of the Federation of European Publishers, I hope that all the nominated authors find audiences across their borders, through the talents of translators and publishers who believe in sharing stories with fellow Europeans.”

Jean-Luc Treutenaere

And Jean-Luc Treutenaere, co-president of the European and International Booksellers Federation, says, ““Once again, the EUPL has achieved what it does best: conveying the richness and diversity of European literature, outlining every year some of the most promising fiction authors in the participating countries.

“In 2024, EUPL has spotlighted 13 authors, out of which a European jury will select five special mentions and one overall winner.

“What truly matters, however, is the lasting contribution that each of these novels make to the nurture of European literature. On behalf of the European and International Booksellers Federation, I want to congratulate all the authors, and I cannot wait to see their works grace the shelves of bookshops across Europe.”

Overall, the goal of the European Union Prize for Literature program is “to promote the circulation of literature within Europe and encourage greater interest in non-national literary works.”

More from Publishing Perspectives on international book and publishing awards programs is here. More from us on the European Union Prize for Literature is here, and more on the publishing markets and trends of Europe is here.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter

Porter Anderson has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with, CNN International, and CNN USA. As an arts critic (Fellow, National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.

Leave a Comment