Wales’ Dylan Thomas Prize Names Its 2024 Longlist

In News by Porter Anderson

The Swansea University Dylan Thomas Prize is in its 18th year in recognizing work by writers 39 and younger.

‘The Mumbles’ lighthouse on Swansea Bay in Wales, November 4, 2023. Image – Getty iStockphoto: Pasha Alptureer

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

A Shortlist Is Expected on March 21
Following the Swansea University Dylan Thomas Prize‘s 2023 win in May by the Nigerian writer Arinze Ifeakandu, the program has opened its 2024 cycle by announcing today (January 25) its longlist of 12 titles.

As Publishing Perspectives readers know, this £20,000 (US$25,386) Dylan Thomas Prize is an 18-year-old program for writers who are 39 or younger, because its namesake, Dylan Thomas, died at age 39 in November of 1953. In fact, the 2023 cycle included an observation of the 70th anniversary of Thomas’ death.

The Dylan Thomas also has an unusually wide purview of fiction in various formats, accepting nominations in novels, short stories, poetry, and playwrighting. This year’s longlist comprises seven novels, three short story collections, and two poetry collections.

The 2o24 Dylan Thomas Prize Longlist
  •   A Spell of Good Things by Ayòbámi Adébáyò (Canongate Books); novel, Nigeria
  •   Small Worlds by Caleb Azumah Nelson (Penguin Random House UK / Viking); novel, United Kingdom and Ghana
  •   The Glutton by A. K. Blakemore (Granta): novel, United Kingdom
  •   Bright Fear by Mary Jean Chan (Faber & Faber): poetry collection, Hong Kong
  •   Penance by Eliza Clark (Faber & Faber): novel, United Kingdom
  •   The Coiled Serpent by Camilla Grudova (Atlantic Books): short story collection, Canada
  •   Hungry Ghosts by Kevin Jared Hosein (Bloomsbury Publishing; HarperCollins / Ecco): novel, Trinidad and Tobago
  •   Local Fires by Joshua Jones (Parthian Books): short story collection, United Kingdom
  •   Biography of X by Catherine Lacey (Granta): novel, United States
  •   Close to Home by Michael Magee (Penguin Random House UK / Hamish Hamilton): novel, United Kingdom
  •   Open Up by Thomas Morris (Faber & Faber) – short story collection, United Kingdom
  •   Divisible by Itself and One by Kae Tempest (Pan Macmillan / Picador): poetry collection, United Kingdom
Jury and Upcoming Dates

This year’s jury for the Dylan Thomas Prize includes:

  • Namita Gokhale, writer and festival director
  • Jon Gower, a former BBC Wales arts and media correspondent with more than 40 books to his name 
  • Sean Hewitt, author of two poetry collections and a memoir
  • Julia Wheeler, a writer, journalist, and interviewer with the BBC for 15 years
  • Tice Cin, an interdisciplinary artist, freelance editor, and cultural consultant

A shortlist is anticipated on March 21 and the winner’s announcement should arrive on May 16 following the May 14 observation of International Dylan Thomas Day.

More from Publishing Perspectives on the Swansea University International Dylan Thomas Prize is here. And more on world literary and publishing awards is here.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter

Porter Anderson has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with, CNN International, and CNN USA. As an arts critic (Fellow, National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.