US National Book Awards 2023 Longlist: Poetry

In News by Porter Anderson

Three of the 10 books in the US National Book Awards’ 2023 longlist in Poetry come from university presses.

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

See also:
US National Book Awards 2023 Longlist: Fiction
US National Book Awards 2023 Longlist: Nonfiction
US National Book Awards 2023 Longlist: Translation
US National Book Awards 2023 Longlist: Young People’s Literature

Poetry Submissions Totaled 295
The last of the five categories in our coverage of the United States’ National Book Foundation‘s 2023 longlist is in Poetry.

Shortlists, called finalists in National Book Awards terminology, in all five categories are to be announced on October 3.

Winners are to be named at the 74th National Book Awards ceremony at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City on November 15.

The 2023 Poetry Longlist

Jurors in this year’s Poetry category for the National Book Awards are Rick Barot, Heid E. Erdrich (chair), Jonathan Farmer, Raina J. León, and Solmaz Sharif.

Publishers submitted a total of 295 books for consideration in this category this year.

Of the 10 longlisted poets here, one has had National Book Awards attention in the past: Monica Youn was shortlisted for Poetry in 2010, and she was a longlisted in the category in 2016.

This year’s Poetry Longlist includes a Guggenheim fellow and three National  Endowment for the Arts fellows. Taken together, these poets have been recognized by the American Book Award, the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award, the Kate Tufts Discovery Award, the Lambda Literary Award for Gay Poetry, the  Lannan Literary Award, the Pushcart Prizes, the William Carlos Williams Award, and more.

Three of the books come from university presses and six come from independent publishers, including one publisher appearing  on the National Book Award longlists for the first time: the University of Georgia Press.

Author Title Publisher / Imprint
John Lee Clark How To Communicate WW Norton
Oliver de la Paz The Diaspora Sonnets WW Norton
Annelyse Gelman Vexations University of Chicago Press
José Olivarez Promises of Gold Macmillan / Henry Holt
Craig Santos Perez From Unincorporated Territory [åmot] Omnidawn
Paisley Rekdal West: A Translation Cooper Canyon Press
Brandon Som Tripas University of Georgia Press / Georgia Review Books
Charif Shanahan Trace Evidence Tin House Books
Evie Schockley Suddenly We Wesleyan University Press
Monica Youn From From Graywolf Press

As always, the jury’s decisions are made independently of the National Book Foundation staff and board of directors and deliberations are strictly confidential.

More on the 2023 National Book Awards:
US National Book Foundation: Poet Rita Dove: 2023 Medal for Distinguished Contribution
US National Book Foundation: Bookseller Paul Yamazaki: 2023 Literarian Medal

More from Publishing Perspectives on the National Book Awards in the United States is here and more on international book awards and prizes is here. More from us on poetry is here, and more on the United States’ market is here

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter

Porter Anderson has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with, CNN International, and CNN USA. As an arts critic (Fellow, National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.