London’s FT Business Book of the Year: A 15-Title Longlist

In News by Porter Anderson

The FT Business Book of the Year issues a 15-title longlist, with a six-title shortlist ahead and a winner to be named in December.

Nikkei is the parent company of the Financial Times. Image: FT Business Book of the Year 2023 longlist video

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

 Shortlist Date: September 21
Having reported last week on the United Kingdom’s Business Book of the Year Award three-year partnership with Schroders investment management firm, we have today (August 16) the news on the program’s longlist.

According to Andrew Hill at the Financial Times, where journalists sorted through more than 500 entries to get this shortlist.

Carrying a purse of £30,000 (US$38,246) for its winner, the program also hands each shortlistee a check for £10,000 (US$12,748).

A shortlist is planned for September 21. The winner is to be announced in England on December 4.

Regular readers of Publishing Perspectives will note that one of the longlisted titles is Mustafa Suleyman’s The Coming Wave: Technology, Power, and the 21st Century’s Greatest Dilemma, written with Michael Bhaskar and scheduled for a September 7 release.

FT Business Book of the Year 2023 Longlist

  • Power and Progress: Our Thousand-Year Struggle Over Technology and Prosperity by Daron Acemoglu and Simon Johnson | Basic Books (UK), PublicAffairs (US)
  • Beijing Rules: China’s Quest for Global Influence by Bethany Allen | John Murray (UK), Harper (US)
  • Billionaires’ Row: Tycoons, High Rollers, and the Epic Race to Build the World’s Most Exclusive Skyscrapers by Katherine Clarke | Currency (UK), Crown (US)
  • Material World: A Substantial Story of Our Past and Future by Ed Conway | WH Allen (UK), Alfred A. Knopf (US)
  • Right Kind of Wrong: Why Learning to Fail Can Teach Us to Thrive by Amy Edmondson | Cornerstone Press (UK), Atria (US)
  • How Big Things Get Done: The Surprising Factors Behind Every Successful Project, From Home Renovations to Space Exploration by Bent Flyvbjerg and Dan Gardner | Macmillan (UK), Currency (US)
  • Your Face Belongs to Us: The Secretive Startup Dismantling Your Privacy by Kashmir Hill | Simon & Schuster (UK), Random House (US)
  • Cobalt Red: How the Blood of the Congo Powers Our Lives by Siddharth Kara | Saint Martin’s Press (UK and US)
  • Easy Money: Cryptocurrency, Casino Capitalism, and the Golden Age of Fraud by Ben McKenzie and Jacob Silverman | Abrams Press (UK and US)
  • Blood in the Machine: The Origins of the Rebellion Against Big Tech by Brian Merchant | Little, Brown and Company (UK and US)
  • Tokens: The Future of Money in the Age of the Platform by Rachel O’Dwyer | Verso Books (UK and US)
  • Five Times Faster: Rethinking the Science, Economics, and Diplomacy of Climate Change by Simon Sharpe | Cambridge University Press  (UK and US)
  • Unscripted: The Epic Battle for a Hollywood Media Empire by James B. Stewart and Rachel Abrams | Cornerstone (UK), Penguin Press (US)
  • The Coming Wave: AI, Power and the Twenty-First Century’s Greatest Dilemma by Mustafa Suleyman with Michael Bhaskar | Penguin Random House/Bodley Head (UK), Crown (US)
  • The Case for Good Jobs: How Great Companies Bring Dignity, Pay, and Meaning to Everyone’s Work by Zeynep Ton | Harvard Business Review Press (UK and US)

Jurors for this year’s competition include:

  • Mimi Alemayehou, founding managing partner at Semai Ventures
  • Daisuke Arakawa, managing director for global business, Nikkei
  • Mitchell Baker, CEO of the Mozilla Corporation and chairwoman of Mozilla Foundation
  • Peter Harrison, Schroders Group’s CEO
  • Herminia Ibarra, Charles Handy, a professor of organizational behavior at London Business School
  • James Kondo, chair of the International House of Japan
  • Randall Kroszner, Norman R. Bobins professor of economics at the University of Chicago’s Booth School of Business
  • Shriti Vadera, chair of Prudential and the Royal Shakespeare Company

More about this year’s longlisted titles is here in Hill’s article.

Previous Winners of the Business Book of the Year
  • Chris Miller for Chip War: The Fight for the World’s Most Critical Technology (2022)
  • Nicole Perlroth for This Is How They Tell Me the World Ends: The Cyberweapons Arms Race (2021)
  • Sarah Frier for No Filter: The Inside Story of How Instagram Transformed Business, Celebrity and Our Culture (2020)
  • Caroline Criado Perez for Invisible Women: Exposing Data Bias in a World Designed for Men (2019)
  • John Carreyrou for Bad Blood: Secrets and Lies in a Silicon Valley Startup (2018)
  • Amy Goldstein for Janesville: An American Story (2017)
  • Sebastian Mallaby for The Man Who Knew: The Life and Times of Alan Greenspan (2016)
  • Martin Ford for Rise of the Robots (2015)
  • Thomas Piketty for Capital in the Twenty-First Century (2014)
  • Brad Stone for The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (2013)
  • Steve Coll for Private Empire: ExxonMobil and American Power (2012)
  • Abhijit V. Banerjee and Esther Duflo for Poor Economics (2011)
  • Raghuram Rajan for Fault Lines (2010)
  • Liaquat Ahamed for The Lords of Finance (2009)
  • Mohamed El-Erian for When Markets Collide (2008)
  • William D. Cohan for The Last Tycoons (2007)
  • James Kynge for China Shakes the World (2006)
  • Thomas Friedman for The World is Flat (2005)

More from Publishing Perspectives on awards programs in books and the publishing industry is here. More on the FT Business Book of the Year award is here, more on business books in general is here, more on the United Kingdom’s market is here, and more on the United States’ market is here.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter

Porter Anderson has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with, CNN International, and CNN USA. As an arts critic (Fellow, National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.