In London, Schroders Backs the Business Book of the Year Award

In News by Porter AndersonLeave a Comment

The Financial Times is joined this year by Schroders, with added support from Nikkei, in the £30,000 Business Book of the Year award.

On Oxford Street in London, August 3. Image – Getty iStockphoto: Can Aksoy

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

‘Business Economics, Environment, and Society’
The United Kingdom’s Business Book of the Year Award has announced today (August 7) that the Schroders investment management firm, more than 200 years old, has become the Financial Times‘ partner in the book-prize regime. Nikkei is also supporting the prize this year.

Now in its 19th year, this award honors what organizers call ground-breaking books that explore important business and economic issues.

Last year’s winner, as Publishing Perspectives readers will recall, was Chris Miller for his Chip War: The Fight for the World’s Most Critical Technology (Simon & Schuster UK, Simon & Schuster/Scriber USA).

Carrying a purse of £30,000 (US$38,357) for its winner, the program also hands each shortlistee a check for £10,000 (US$12,785).

A longlist is anticipated later this month, with a shortlist planned for September 21. The winner is to be announced in England on December 4.

Jurors for this year’s competition include:

  • Mimi Alemayehou, founding managing partner at Semai Ventures
  • Daisuke Arakawa, managing director for global business, Nikkei
  • Mitchell Baker, CEO of the Mozilla Corporation and chairwoman of Mozilla Foundation
  • Peter Harrison, Schroders Group’s CEO
  • Herminia Ibarra, Charles Handy, a professor of organizational behavior at London Business School
  • James Kondo, chair of the International House of Japan
  • Randall Kroszner, Norman R. Bobins professor of economics at the University of Chicago’s Booth School of Business
  • Shriti Vadera, chair of Prudential and the Royal Shakespeare Company

Peter Harrison

In a prepared statement, Harrison at Schroders is quoted, saying, “We’re proud to support a prize that showcases the sharpest and most visionary thinking in the fields of business, economics, environment and society.

“The authors and their books inevitably grapple with many of the world’s biggest challenges–something fundamental also to our role in looking after clients’ money.”

Previous Winners of the Business Book of the Year
  • Chris Miller for Chip War: The Fight for the World’s Most Critical Technology (2022)
  • Nicole Perlroth for This Is How They Tell Me the World Ends: The Cyberweapons Arms Race (2021)
  • Sarah Frier for No Filter: The Inside Story of How Instagram Transformed Business, Celebrity and Our Culture (2020)
  • Caroline Criado Perez for Invisible Women: Exposing Data Bias in a World Designed for Men (2019)
  • John Carreyrou for Bad Blood: Secrets and Lies in a Silicon Valley Startup (2018)
  • Amy Goldstein for Janesville: An American Story (2017)
  • Sebastian Mallaby for The Man Who Knew: The Life and Times of Alan Greenspan (2016)
  • Martin Ford for Rise of the Robots (2015)
  • Thomas Piketty for Capital in the Twenty-First Century (2014)
  • Brad Stone for The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (2013)
  • Steve Coll for Private Empire: ExxonMobil and American Power (2012)
  • Abhijit V. Banerjee and Esther Duflo for Poor Economics (2011)
  • Raghuram Rajan for Fault Lines (2010)
  • Liaquat Ahamed for The Lords of Finance (2009)
  • Mohamed El-Erian for When Markets Collide (2008)
  • William D. Cohan for The Last Tycoons (2007)
  • James Kynge for China Shakes the World (2006)
  • Thomas Friedman for The World is Flat (2005)

More from Publishing Perspectives on awards programs in books and the publishing industry is here. More on the FT Business Book of the Year award is here, more on business books in general is here, more on the United Kingdom’s market is here, and more on the United States’ market is here.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter Google+

Porter Anderson is a non-resident fellow of Trends Research & Advisory, and he has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with, CNN International, and CNN USA. As an arts critic (Fellow, National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.

Leave a Comment