Chris Miller’s ‘Chip War’ Wins the 2022 FT Business Book of the Year Award

In News by Porter Anderson

A timely selection, Chris Williams’ ‘Chip War’ from Simon & Schuster wins the £30,000 FT Book of the Year Award in London.

The Winner of the FT Business Book of the Year Award 2022, Chris Miller, at the awards ceremony, Victoria & Albert Museum, London. Image: FT Business Book of the Year, Gareth Davies

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

‘Global Dependency on a Few Manufacturers’
The 18th edition of the UK-based Business Book of the Year Award from the Financial Times tonight (May 5) has announced Chris Miller its winner for his Chip War: The Fight for the World’s Most Critical Technology (Simon & Schuster UK, Simon & Schuster/Scriber USA).

Miller teaches international history at Tufts University’s Fletcher School and the Jeane Kilpatrick visiting fellow at the American Enterprise Institute as well as the Eurasia Research Director of the Foreign Policy Research Institute.

The timing of his win with this particular book—he has published four books—certainly suggests a news cycle that might boost sales. Joe Biden and Gina Raimondo, the American commerce secretary, on Tuesday (December 6) are to attend a tool-in ceremony for the new plant in Arizona built by Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company, TSMC, as the White House presses its case to advance chip production in the States.

Miller’s book is described as explicating “the long supply chains that make up the complex and increasingly fragile network that builds and assembles semiconductors, and examines the implications of our global dependency on a few vast manufacturers.”

Carrying a purse of £30,000 (US$36,584) for its winner, the program also hands each of the remaining five shortlistees £10,000 (US$12,194).

As we mentioned in our reportage on the program’s shortlist in September, the selection of a winner in this competition is meant to honor “a book which provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues.”

The award program was hosted tonight by the Financial Times editor Roula Khalaf at the Victoria & Albert Museum in London with the Baroness Shafik giving a keynote address.

Jurors chaired by Khalef this time are:

  • Mimi Alemayehou, Mastercard
  • Mitchell Baker, Mozilla Foundation
  • Mohamed El-Erian, Queens’ College, Cambridge University
  • Herminia Ibarra, London Business School
  • James Kondo, International House of Japan
  • Randall Kroszner, University of Chicago
  • Shriti Vadera, Prudential Plc and Royal Shakespeare Company

In another award given this evening, Ariel of Fauconberg was given £15,000 (US$18,303) for a book proposal titled Before the Dawn: Racing to Net Zero on the Front Lines of Climate Innovation. Jurors for that one were:

  • Isabel Fernandez-Mateo, London Business School
  • Katherine Garrett-Cox CBE, GIB Asset Management
  • Jonathan Hillman, winner of the 2019 Bracken Bower Prize for The Digital Silk Road
  • Rik Ubhi, Bonnier Books UK/Heligo Books
Repeating the Business Book of the Year 2022 Shortlist

Title Author(s) Publisher
Dead in the Water: Murder and Fraud in the World’s Most Secretive Industry Matthew Campbell, Kit Chellel Atlantic Books (UK), Penguin Random House/Portfolio (USA)
Influence Empire: The Story of Tencent and China’s Tech Ambition Lulu Chen Hachette/Hodder & Stoughton (UK and USA)
The Rise and Fall of the Neoliberal Order: America and the World in the Free Market Era Gary Gerstle Oxford University Press (UK and USA)
The Power Law: Venture Capital and the Art of Disruption Sebastian Mallaby, Penguin Random House/Allen Lane (UK), Penguin Press (USA)
Chip War: The Fight for the World’s Most Critical Technology Chris Miller Simon & Schuster (UK), Simon & Schuster / Scribner (USA)
Disorder: Hard Times in the 21st Century Helen Thompson Oxford University Press (UK and USA)

Previous winners of the award:

  • Nicole Perlroth for This Is How They Tell Me the World Ends: The Cyberweapons Arms Race (2021)
  • Sarah Frier for No Filter: The Inside Story of How Instagram Transformed Business, Celebrity and Our Culture (2020)
  • Caroline Criado Perez for Invisible Women: Exposing Data Bias in a World Designed for Men (2019)
  • John Carreyrou for Bad Blood: Secrets and Lies in a Silicon Valley Startup (2018)
  • Amy Goldstein for Janesville: An American Story (2017)
  • Sebastian Mallaby for The Man Who Knew: The Life and Times of Alan Greenspan (2016)
  • Martin Ford for Rise of the Robots (2015)
  • Thomas Piketty for Capital in the Twenty-First Century (2014)
  • Brad Stone for The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (2013)
  • Steve Coll for Private Empire: ExxonMobil and American Power (2012)
  • Abhijit V. Banerjee and Esther Duflo for Poor Economics (2011)
  • Raghuram Rajan for Fault Lines (2010)
  • Liaquat Ahamed for The Lords of Finance (2009)
  • Mohamed El-Erian for When Markets Collide (2008)
  • William D. Cohan for The Last Tycoons (2007)
  • James Kynge for China Shakes the World (2006)
  • Thomas Friedman for The World is Flat (2005)

This is Publishing Perspectives’ 207th awards-related report in the 218 publication days since our 2022 operations began on January 3.

More from Publishing Perspectives on awards programs in books and the publishing industry is here. More on business books is here, more on the United Kingdom’s market is here, and more on the United States’ market is here.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter

Porter Anderson has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with, CNN International, and CNN USA. As an arts critic (Fellow, National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.