German Nonfiction Prize: Submissions Are Open, Jurors Named

In News by Porter Anderson

The €42,500 German Nonfiction Prize has selected a jury as the 2023 award cycle gets underway.

At Hamburg’s Elbphilharmonie where the German Nonfiction Prize will have its 2023 award ceremony in June. Image – Getty iStockphoto: Alex Hagmann

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

Deadline for Publisher Submissions: November 18
The jury for the German Nonfiction Prize 2023 has been announced today (November 2).

The Akademie Deutscher Sachbuchpreis (Academy of the German Nonfiction Prize) has appointed to the jury seven specialists from the areas of nonfiction criticism, journalism, science, and the book trade.

They are:

  • Julika Griem (Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities [KWI] Essen)
  • Stefan Koldehoff (Deutschlandfunk)
  • Michael Lemling (Buchhandlung Lehmkuhl bookshop)
  • Markus Rex (Alfred Wegener Institute)
  • Jeanne Rubner (Technical University of Munich)
  • Adam Soboczynski (Die ZEIT)
  • Mirjam Zadoff (Munich Documentation Centre for the History of National Socialism)

The members of the jury will decide who receives the German Nonfiction Prize 2023, which in its final event will, as you’ll recall, move to the small hall at the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg.

At their first joint meeting, these newly named jurors will appoint their spokesperson. The Akademie Deutscher Sachbuchpreis selects a new jury every year. It’s possible to serve as a member of the jury more than once.

The German Nonfiction Prize is awarded by the Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels. 

The prize is worth a total €42,500 (US$42,039) to an outstanding nonfiction book written in German that inspires social debate. The winner receives €25,000 (US$24,722), and the seven runners-up €2,500 each.

Publishers Are Invited To Submit Titles

Until November 18, publishers may submit two German-language monographs each from their current or planned program and recommend up to five additional titles at this address.

These titles must be published between May 2022 and April 2023 and be available in bookstores no later than April 18, when the nominees are announced.

The winning book is selected through a two-stage process. An independent jury, to be named in November, will compile a list of nominations comprising eight titles. That list is what will be announced on April 18.

From this selection, the members of the jury will then choose the program’s nonfiction book of the year. The eight authors will find out which of them has won the German Nonfiction Prize only on the evening of the award ceremony itself at the Elbphilharmonie.

Follow news of the German Nonfiction Prize by hashing it #DeutscherSachbuchpreis on social media.

This is Publishing Perspectives’ 187th awards-related report in the 196 publication days since our 2022 operations began on January 3.

More from Publishing Perspectives on the German Nonfiction Prize is here, and more on publishing and book awards in general is here. More on the German market is here, and more on nonfiction is here.

And more from us on the still-ongoing coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on international book publishing is here.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter

Porter Anderson has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with, CNN International, and CNN USA. As an arts critic (Fellow, National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.