German Nonfiction Book Prize Names Its 2022 Jury

In News by Porter Anderson

The submissions period for the second cycle of the still-new German Nonfiction Prize runs to November 19, as seven jurors are named.

A June 21 view of the newly developed Humboldt Forum in Berlin, where the May award ceremony of the German Nonfiction Prize will be held. Image – Getty iStockphoto: Heiko

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

Jury Chair To Be Selected by the Panel
The jury for the German Nonfiction Prize 2022 has been selected.

The Akademie Deutscher Sachbuchpreis (Academy of the German Nonfiction Prize) has appointed the following seven experts from the areas of non-fiction criticism, journalism, science and the book trade to the jury:

  • Klaus Kowalke (Lessing & Kompanie bookstore)
  • Stefan Koldehoff (Deutschlandfunk)
  • Tania Martini (die tageszeitung)
  • Meron Mendel (Bildungsstätte Anne Frank – Anne Frank Educational Centre)
  • Jeanne Rubner (Bayerischer Rundfunk)
  • Denis Scheck (ARD)
  • Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger (Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin – Berlin Institute for Advanced Study)

At their first joint meeting, the jury members appoint their spokesperson.

The Akademie Deutscher Sachbuchpreis selects a new jury every year. It’s permissible to serve as a member of the jury more than once.

The German Nonfiction Prize will be awarded for the second time in 2022.

The Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels (the Foundation for Book Culture and the Promotion of Reading of the German Publishers and Booksellers Association) will award the prize, worth a total of €42,500 (US49,299) on 30 May 2022.

The award honors an outstanding nonfiction book written in German that inspires social debate. The winner receives €25,000, the seven nominees €2,500 each.

Submissions Accepted to November 19

Until November 19,publishers may submit two German-language monographs each from their current or planned lists and may recommend up to five additional titles. These titles must be published between May 2021 and April 2022 and be available in bookstores no later than April 12, when the nominations will be announced.

The nonfiction book of the year is selected through a two-stage process.

First, the jury compiles a list of nominations comprising eight titles, which will be announced on April 12. From this selection, the members of the jury then choose the nonfiction book of the year. The winner will be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony on May 30 at the Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss (Humboldt Forum in the Berlin Palace).

The Deutsche Bank Stiftung (Deutsche Bank Foundation) is the main sponsor of the prize, which is also supported by the Stiftung Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss (the Foundation of the Humboldt Forum in the Berlin Palace).

For publishers, we have this link to use for an online application form.

More from Publishing Perspectives on the German Nonfiction Prize is here, and on publishing and book awards in general is here. More on the German market is here.

And more from us on the coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on international book publishing is here.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter

Porter Anderson has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with, CNN International, and CNN USA. As an arts critic (Fellow, National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.