Springer Nature at Frankfurt: Physical Stand, Digital Programming

In News by Porter AndersonLeave a Comment

Speaking of a company mission ‘to embed trust in research,’ Springer Nature again this year offers professionals a series of digital discussions on high-profile issues.

Springer Nature stand at Frankfurter Buchmesse 2015. Image: Publishing Perspectives, Johannes Minkus

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

Renate Bayaz: ‘The World’s Urgent Challenges’
While trade visitors to Frankfurter Buchmesse next week (October 20 to 24) will find Holtzbrinck’s  Springer Nature stand in Hall 4.0, stand C25, the scholarly and research publisher has again this year prepared a set of digital programming events, as well, so that those not able to join us in person at the trade show can nevertheless see the programming the company has produced.

Renate Bayaz

In a prepared statement, the company’s communications director for books and professional work, Renate Bayaz, is quoted, saying, “We want to send a positive signal and offer our customers and business partners from the book trade and publishing sector an opportunity to meet and network in person.

“Nevertheless, we also offer the chance of engaging with the scientific publishing industry to those who cannot or don’t yet feel like attending the option of a physical presence alongside our digital presence.

“Therefore, we’ve created a hybrid presence of physical booth and online events, both of which reflect our mission to embed trust in research, and discover solutions to the world’s urgent challenges by unlocking the potential of open science and research across all disciplines.”

As Publishing Perspectives readers will remember, Springer Nature opened a “digital hub” last year, when Frankfurt’s offerings had to be produced entirely online at that stage in the still-ongoing coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic.

This year, the company says it has gathered specialist panels on a range of timely, pertinent topics that include:

  • The role open science, partnership, and cross-disciplinary thinking play in tackling global societal challenges
  • The impact COVID-19 and the rise of misinformation and/or disinformation have had on science communication
  • The role of technology and artificial intelligence in advancing research
  • What the ever-evolving digital landscape means for librarian leadership
  • What ‘taking responsibility’ as a global publisher actually means

The program is broken into five sessions set into three thematic sections: “trends in publishing,” “research perspectives,” and “libraries and campus.”

Events are set for the three trade-visitor days of the show, October 20, 21 and 22.

Five Sessions

Harnessing open science to address global issues? (registration)
October 20
11 a.m. CEST / 10 a.m. BST / 09:00 GMT / 5 a.m. ET
With :

  • Nick Campbell, vice-president, for funder relations
  • Nicola Jones, head of publishing
  • Molly Hawes, senior climate action and engagement manager, Springer Nature

How Has COVID-19 Changed the Way we Communicate Science? (registration)
October 21
11 a.m. CEST / 10 a.m. BST / 09:00 GMT / 5 a.m. ET
With:

  • Fiona Fox, director of the UK’s Science Media Centre
  • Volker Stollorz, managing director of Science Media Center, Germany
  • Alice Henchley, communications director for journals and editorial at Springer Nature

How Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning Are Opening Up Science (registration)
October 21
12 p.m. CEST / 11 a.m. BST / 10:00 GMT / 6 a.m. ET
With:

  • Katie Baker, head of communications with Springer Nature
  • Amye Kenall, vice-president, Publishing and Product Research Square
  • Rocco Raso, manager of books and publishing for Books Publishing Solutions, Springer Nature

Librarian Leadership in the Virtual Age (registration)
October 21
11 a.m. CEST / 10 a.m. BST / 09:00 GMT / 5 a.m. ET
With:

  • Jane Harvell, director of library services and university librarian, University of Sussex
  • Ralf Schimmer, director of scientific information provision, Max Planck Digital Library
  • Shin Freedman, head of scholarly recourse, Framingham State University
  • Stephen Pinfield, professor of information services management, University of Sheffield
  • Nancy Roberts, CEO, Management in Publishing
  • Sacha Billet, senior marketing manager, Springer Nature

Taking Responsibility as a Global Publisher (French-language event, registration)
October 22
2 p.m. CEST / 1 p.m. BST / 12 p.m. BST  / 11:00 GMT / 8 a.m. ET
With:

  • Arend Küster, director academic affairs, Springer Nature
  • Stefanie Schulmeyer, communications and academic outreach manager at Springer Nature
  • Alexandrine Cheronet, editorial director for Earth and environmental sciences with Springer Nature
  • Sara Crowley-Vigneau, Open access books partnerships manager, Springer Nature
  • Bastien Conan, senior publishing manager, Springer Nature

 


More from us on Springer Nature is here, more on scholarly publishing is here, and more on open access is here. More from us on Frankfurter Buchmesse is here.

More from us on the coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on international book publishing is here.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter Google+

Porter Anderson is a non-resident fellow of Trends Research & Advisory, and he has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with CNN.com, CNN International, and CNN USA. As as an arts critic (National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.

Leave a Comment