Frankfurt Week Planning: International Publishers Association Events

In News by Porter AndersonLeave a Comment

The International Publishers Association’s series of Frankfurt Week events includes several programs open to the public. Many of them are available digitally as well as at Messe Frankfurt.

In Hall 5 at Frankfurter Buchmesse 2008. Image: FBM Alexander Heimann

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

Women in Publishing, Freedom to Publish, Copyright
A German publisher  who will be joining us in person at Frankfurter Buchmesse next week just dropped a note, saying, “This book fair all of a sudden got so very busy.”

It seems that some are making late-in-the-day decisions to get to Frankfurt after originally thinking they’d participate digitally. This is great, of course. The chatter around our Frankfort Conference sessions on Monday and today (October 12) has been about hearing colleagues say, “I’ll see you there, after all.”

And whether you’ll be with us physically or digitally, you’re going to find the scheduling getting tighter.

To that end, one channel of events we’d like to lay out for you are the events that involve the International Publishers Association (IPA), not least because its 71-nation membership touches so many of our international readership. More than 85 publishers’ associations are represented by the organization, which has become a leading player in the industry’s development.

October 14: Frankfurt Master Class (digital)
Reverse Mentorship: What Tomorrow’s Publishing Stars Can Teach Us Today
4 p.m. CEST / 3 p.m. BST / 14:00 GMT / 10 a.m. ET

This is a session from PublisHer, the international networking organization founded by IPA president Bodour Al Qasimi in 2019 at London Book Fair to bring gender equality to world publishing.

Bodour Al Qasimi

The organization continues to grow in its reach and influence among professional book publishing networks, this year releasing a practical and extensively detailed Diversity and Inclusion Diagnostic Toolkit (PDF). Its also available for download here, alongside the organization’s policy guidelines on diversity and inclusion.

Speaking:

  • Latoya West Blackwood
  • Aimée Felone, Knights Of
  • Véronique Fontaine, La boîte à pitons
  • Alicia Liu, Singing Grass

Kristenn Einarsson

October 15: Frankfurt Master Class (digital)
Freedom to Publish: The Shadow of Self-Censorship – with the announcement of the 2021 IPA Prix Voltaire shortlist
11 a.m. CEST / 10 BST / 09:00 GMT / 5 a.m. ET

This session is from the IPA’s Freedom to Publish committee. Speakers include:

  • Kristenn Einarsson, IPA Freedom to Publish chair
  • Sherif Bakr, Al Arabi Publishing and Distributing
  • Lawrence Schimel, author, translator, publisher
  • James Taylor, IPA communications director

José Borghino

October 18: “The Hof” (digital)
Celebration of the IPA’s 125th Anniversary and the Introduction of its new “Inspire” Charter for Pandemic Response
4 p.m. CEST / 3 p.m. BST / 14:00 GMT / 10 a.m. ET

  • “The Hof” is the networking program from Frankfurt, particularly effective for those who aren’t able to join us in Frankfurt in person.
    Registration is here.
Programming Originating from Frankfurt Studio, and More

October 20: Frankfurt Studio:  Panel Discussion with WIPO and IPA (digital)
The Impact of COVID-19 on the Global Publishing Industry
11 a.m. CEST / 10 a.m. BST / 09:00 GMT / 5 a.m. ET

The World Intellectual Property Organization and IPA look at data on the coronavirus COVID-19’s effects.

Carsten Fink

Speakers include:

  • Bodour Al Qasimi, IPA president
  • Carsten Fink, WIPO
  • Andre Breedt, Nielsen
  • Benedicte Page, The Bookseller
  • John Degen, Writers Union of Canada

October 20: Frankfurt Studio: Accessible Publishing Panel and ABC International Excellence Award (digital)
Accessibility Now: Will You Be Ready for the European Accessibility Act in 2025?
3 p.m. CEST / 2 p.m. BST / 13:00 GMT / 9 a.m. ET

Rachel Comerford

In June 2025, the European Accessibility Act will come into force, requiring any publishing company doing business in Europe to make its ebooks available in accessible formats. This practical session, co-organized by the Federation of European Publishers, Frankfurter Buchmesse, the International Publishers Association and WIPO, will focus on two questions: what do publishers need to do and how can they do it? Speakers:

  • James Taylor, IPA communications director
  • Rachel Comerford, Macmillan Learning
  • Cristina Mussinelli, Fondazione LIA
  • Laura Grady, House of Anansi

October 21: Indonesian Stand, Messe Frankfurt Forum A15
The 2022 IPA World Publishing Congress in Jakarta
3 p.m. CEST

This year’s JakTent programming in Jakart is part of a series of activities for the IPA World Congress 2022, which will be held in the Indoneisan capital.

The publishing sector in this nation of islands has a unique set of advantages, an estuary of creative content able to collaborate and connect with all other creative economic sectors,” according to Gumilar Ekalaya, acting head of tourism and creative economy for Jakarta.


More from Publishing Perspectives on Frankfurter Buchmesse is here, more on publishing trade shows and book fairs is here, more on the International Publishers Association is here, more on freedom to publish is here, more on women in publishing is here, more on accessibility is here, and more on copyright is here

Publishing Perspectives is the world media partner of the International Publishers Association.

More from us on the coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on international book publishing is here. 

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter Google+

Porter Anderson is a non-resident fellow of Trends Research & Advisory, and he has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with CNN.com, CNN International, and CNN USA. As as an arts critic (National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.

Leave a Comment