Friday: Frankfurt Academic Conference on Libraries and Publishing

In News by Porter Anderson

Among elements of this two-day Frankfurt Academic Conference program is the question of how publishers and libraries are managing open access and the pandemic.

Image – iStockphoto: Mango Star Studio

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

Engagement Online and Open Access’ Progress
On Thursday and Friday (December 3 and 4), Frankfurt Academic Conference presents “A New Era for Academic Publishing in Europe and the United States.

The digital program runs 3 to 7 p.m. CET / 2 to 6 p.m. GMT / 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. ET on Thursday and on Friday starts at the same hour and runs 30 minutes longer.

Hosted by Frankfurt Book Fair New York, the program focuses on academic libraries and publishers in North America and Europe to consider the impact of open access and issues of strengthening engagement online.

There’s a charge of US$199 (€164 euros) for the event and registration is available here.

Publishing Perspectives is a partner in the presentation, as are the Italian publishers association (Associazione Italiana Editori, AIE); the Society for Scholarly Publishing; and the Charleston Conference, which held its main 2020 online event in early November. The program is made possible through funding from the German Federal Foreign Office.

Speakers

During the course of the two days, registrants will hear from:

  • Carsten Borchert, co-founder and managing director of SciFlow
  • Michelle Claussen, key account manager, Frankfurter Buchmesse
  • Ben Johnson, head of communities and engagement at Springer Nature
  • Sven Fund, managing director at Knowledge Unlatched
  • Ann Okerson, senior advisor, Center for Research Libraries
  • Joachim Kindler, director of business development with Frankfurter Buchmesse
  • Peter Brantley, director of online strategy at the University of California-Davis Library
  • Dirk Pieper, deputy director at Bielefeld University Library
  • David Worlock, co-chair of leadership programs with Outsell

More about the conference’s speakers is here.

Overview of Presentations: Day One

Welcome and Introduction
Thursday, December 3
3 to 3:30 p.m. CET / 2 to 2:30 p.m. GMT / 9 to 9:30 a.m. ET
Joachim Kindler, Sven Fund, Michelle Claussen

Scholarly Communications Reinvented
Thursday, December 3
3:30 to 4:30 p.m. CET / 2:30 to 3:30 p.m. GMT / 9:30 to 10:30 a.m. ET
This session looks at the needs, the business models and the critical impact of data and analytics in a sector already undergoing critical evolution through open access.
David Worlock

Break: 15 minutes

Academic Publishing and Libraries in Europe and the United States: Worlds Apart?
Thursday, December 3
4:45 to 5:45 p.m. CET / 3:45 to 4:45 p.m. GMT / 10:45 to 11:45 a.m. ET
The presentation will look at similarities and differences in the way publishers and libraries manage this change process in Europe and the United States.
Dirk Pieper

Break: 15 minutes

How To Strengthen Your Relationships With Authors Using Online Communities
Thursday, December 3
6 to 7 p.m. CET / 5 to 6 p.m. GMT / 12 to 1 p.m. ET
What makes an online community successful while providing a service for academic researchers and educating the general public?
Ben Johnson

Overview of Presentations: Day Two

Welcome Back and Recap of Thursday
Friday, December 4
3 to 3:30 p.m. CET / 2 to 2:30 p.m. GMT / 9 to 9:30 a.m. ET
Sven Fund

Libraries in North America: Collecting Trends and Topics
Friday, December 4
3:30 to 4:30 p.m. CET / 2:30 to 3:30 p.m. GMT / 9:30 to 10:30 a.m. ET
A discussion of current trends and topics in the library world, arguing that libraries risk losing focus and strategic direction on important things.
Ann Okerson

Break: 15 minutes

Struggling to Innovate: The Resilience of Form
Friday, December 4
4:45 to 5:45 p.m. CET / 3:45 to 4:45 p.m. GMT / 10:45 to 11:45 a.m. ET
How the organizational market for the production and distribution of digital books impacts the goal of books that are accessible and interactive for all.
Peter Brantley

Content Startup of the Year (2020)
Friday, December 4
5:45 to 6 p.m. CET / 4:45 to 5 p.m. GMT / 11:45 a.m. to 12 p.m. ET
Startup SciFlow, winner of this year’s the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels’ ContentShift accelerator, is a collaborative online text editor.
Carsten Borchert

Break: 15 minutes

Open Access: Where are we?
Friday, December 4
6:15 to 7:15 p.m. CET / 5:15 to 6:15 p.m. GMT / 12:15 to 1:15 p.m. ET
Despite all progress, there are still issues to be resolved to let open access live up to its promises regarding access, sustainability, and scalability.
Sven Fund

Closing Remarks
Friday, December 4
7:15 to 7:30 p.m. CET / 6:15 to 6:30 p.m. GMT / 1:15 to 1:30 p.m. ET
Joachim Kindler, Michelle Claussen

More detail on the programming of the conference is here.


More from Publishing Perspectives on academic and scholarly publishing is here; more from us on Frankfurter Buchmesse is here, and more from us on ContentShift is here.

More from us on the coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on international book publishing is here.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter Google+

Porter Anderson is a non-resident fellow of Trends Research & Advisory, and he has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with CNN.com, CNN International, and CNN USA. As as an arts critic (National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.