Publishing Perspectives Talk: ‘Digital Format Adoption and the Pandemic’

In News by Porter AndersonLeave a Comment

The hourlong discussion looks at the internationally noted rise in digital-format usage by consumers during lockdowns and at market performance since the spring onset of the pathogen’s outbreaks.

Image – iStockphoto: V Fladans

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

A programing note: Frankfurter Buchmesse will re-stream our Publishing Perspectives Talks session from October 13 on Friday (October 15): Digital Format Adoption and the Pandemic.

The discussion features:

  • Michael Tamblyn, Rakuten Kobo CEO
  • Kristen McLean, the NPD Group’s executive director for business development and primary publishing industry analyst
  • Michele Cobb, Audio Publishers Association executive director
  • Videl Bar-Kar, Bookwire’s head of audio

In the session, the group tackles the question of whether digital format adoption has been accelerated during the lockdown and other spread-containment efforts in the coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic. Will most newcomers to digital formats return to an earlier preference for print?

The recorded session airs Friday at 6 p.m. CEST / 1600 GMT / 5 p.m. BST / 12 noon ET.

You can find it in the Frankfurt B2B digital programming area under Friday’s listings. Choose the drop-down Stage 3.

All Frankfurter Buchmesse programming is free of charge, after a one-time registration at My Book Fair.

From left are Videl Bar-Kar, Michele Cobb, Kristen McLean, and Michael Tamblyn


More from Publishing Perspectives on audiobooks is here. More from us on ebooks is here, and more on digital publishing is here. More from Publishing Perspectives on Frankfurter Buchmesse is here.

More on the coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on international book publishing is here and at the CORONAVIRUS tab at the top of each page of our site.

And from international industry trends to curated guides to the many online events during this year’s Frankfurt Book Fair, our digital magazine offers you the information you need to make the most of the fair and the rest of 2020. 

Download your free copy now.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter Google+

Porter Anderson has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's 2019 International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for trade and indie authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson also has worked as a senior producer, editor, and anchor with CNN.com, CNN International, and CNN USA, and as an arts critic (National Critics Institute) with The Village Voice and Dallas Times Herald.

Leave a Comment