AAP PROSE Awards Names Its Five 2020 Winners

In News by Porter Anderson

The winners of the 2020 PROSE Awards’ main categories honoring scholarly writing now are in competition for the top RR Hawkins Award.

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

Major University Presses Published the Winners
The 2020 PROSE Awards for scholarly publications—having produced what are probably the world’s lengthiest long- and shortlists—today (February 25) have released a five-title list of top winners, one for each of the five top-level divisions in which the awards are given:

  • Biological and Life Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Physical Sciences and Mathematics
  • Reference Works
  • Social Sciences

As Publishing Perspectives readers know, the PROSE Awards are produced by the Association of American Publishers’ 2020 PROSE Awards.

The name of the program, PROSE, stands for Professional and Scholarly Excellence. These awards recognize scholarly works published in the United States in the arts, humanities, biological and physical sciences, reference, and social sciences. And the works eligible for contention in this cycle of the program have to have been copyrighted in 2019.

In a prepared statement, Maria A. Pallante, president and CEO of the association, is quoted today, saying, “This year’s five award winners are each, in its own way, extraordinary works that represent the very best in class in the arts, humanities, and science publishing.

Maria A. Pallante

“With this announcement, the houses that brought these works into the world—Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press, Princeton University Press, Stanford University Press and Yale University Press—are being honored for the extraordinary role they have played in identifying  and nurturing the authors who created this year’s Excellence winners, and for their critically important contributions to the advancement of learning, knowledge, and understanding.”

The 157-title longlist can be reviewed here. The 49 category winners under the five divisions are here.

A panel of 19 jurors were used to review the more-than 630 entries for this year’s program. Nigel Fletcher-Jones, who directs the program and leads the jury, is quoted saying, “The collective winners of the awards—authors, editors, and publishers—should be immensely proud of their remarkable achievement in a year of record submissions to the PROSE Awards.”

2020 Prose Award Winners

PROSE Award for Excellence in Biological & Life Sciences

2020 PROSE Award in Humanities

PROSE Award in Physical Sciences and Mathematics

PROSE Award in Reference Works

PROSE Award for Excellence in Social Sciences

Just for the record, at list price, a print copy of each of these books would cost a total US$915. The most expensive, predictably for art books, is the Leonardo book by Carmen Bambach, which has a publisher’s retail list price of $550. The least expensive is Philip Ording’s 99 Variations, at $24.95.

The top winner drawn from this group of five is awarded the RR Hawkins honor, and that recipient is to be celebrated on June 23.

More from Publishing Perspectives on the Association of American Publishers is here, more on digital publishing is here, and more on publishing and book awards is here.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter

Porter Anderson has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with CNN.com, CNN International, and CNN USA. As an arts critic (Fellow, National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.