British Book Awards: More Than 65 Judges for 2019

In News by Porter Anderson

Festival directors, journalists, authors, broadcasters, editors, publishers, booksellers, illustrators, translators, educators, and literary agents are among the big cohort of judges for the 2019 ‘Nibbies.’

Among an overall group of 68, judges for the 2019 British Book Awards include, from left on the top row, Syima Aslam, Reni Eddo-Lodge, Fanny Blake, Joseph Knox, and Charlotte Phillby; from left on the middle row, Alex Reads, Kay Burley, David Headley, Caroline Hutton, Philip Jones; and from left on the bottom row, Axel Schleffer, Anita Sethi, Adam Kay, Daniel Hahn, and Stig Abell

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

Deadline for Submissions: February 8
The British Book Awards—which are to be announced on May 13 this year at London’s Grosvenor House—have named their 2019 ensemble of jurors today (February 1).

Submissions for the prize program now are open for publishers, agents, authors, illustrators, and booksellers. Entries close in a week, on February 8.

As is the tradition since 2016 when The Bookseller bought “the Nibbies,” as they’re also known, the program is expanding the number of honors it dispenses. As Publishing Perspectives reported in December, this year, there will be two children’s awards, rather than one: the category will have both a fiction award and an award for illustrated and nonfiction. The Independent Bookstore of the Year prize will also get a companion, a prize for Small Press of the Year.

And once the submissions period has closed, a cohort of almost 70 jurors will get to work in various categories of judging.

2019 British Book Award Jury Chairs
  • Philip Jones for Books of the Year and Audiobook of the Year
  • Alice O’Keefe for Books of the Year and Debut and Fiction Book of the Year
  • Benedicte Page for the trade publishing categories
  • Tom Tivnan for the trade retail categories
  • Alison Flood for the fiction/crime and thriller category
  • Fiona Noble for Children’s Illustrated and Nonfiction Book of the Year
  • Caroline Sanderson for Nonfiction Lifestyle and Narrative Nonfiction Book of the Year
  • Charlotte Eyre for Children’s Fiction Book of the Year
2019 British Book Award Books of the Year Judges
  • Stig Abel, Times Literary Supplement editor and publisher
  • Anita Arnand, journalist and author
  • Gareth Armstrong, theater director, writer, audio artist
  • Syima Aslam, Bradford Literature Festival director
  • Georgina Attwell, Toppsta founder
  • Sam Baker, journalist, author, presenter
  • Hannah Beckerman, author and journalist
  • Fanny Blake, journalist and writer
  • Karen Brindle, Tesco buyer,
  • Francesca Brown, stylist and Emerald Street Books editor
  • Kay Burley, Sky News presenter
  • Bea Carvalho, Waterstones fiction buyer
  • Jo Clarke, school librarian, blogger, writer
  • Reni Eddo-Lodge, author, journalist, activist
  • Harriet Evans, author
  • Jo Forshaw, audio publishing consultant
  • Natasha Harding, The Sun writer and journalist
  • David Headley, Goldboro Books managing director
  • Phil Henderson, Asda buying manager in books
  • Caroline Hutton, Cheltenham Literature Festival chair
  • Adam Kay, writer and comedian
  • Charlotte Phillby, author and journalist
  • Jess Phillips, Labour MP for Birmingham Yardley
  • Nina Pottell, Prima Magazine books editor
  • Rai Rafiq, Mostly Lit creator, host
  • Caroline Raphael, Dora Productions director
  • Jay Rayner, The Observer writer, journalist, broadcaster
  • Alex Reads, Mostly Lit creator, host
  • Brigitte Riocou-Bellan, Amazon UK books director
  • Mike Roberts, WHSmith Travel UK trading controller for books
  • Axel Scheffler, illustrator
  • Anita Sethi, journalist, writer, critic
  • Ranj Singh, MD, pediatric physician with the National Health and television presenter
  • David Solomons, children’s author
  • Jasper Sutcliffe, Foyles head of buying
  • Sarah Walden, COO, The Book People
  • Tina Gaisford-Waller, Winstone’s Hunting Raven manager
  • Brett Wolstencroft, Daunt Books manager
2019 British Book Award Trade Category Judges
  • Nick Barley, Edinburgh International Book Festival director
  • Alison Baverstock, Kingston University associate professor
  • Nick Brackenbury, CEO, NearSt co-founding
  • Phillip Downer, Calliope Gifts managing director
  • Kevin Duffy, Blue Moose Books publisher
  • Harbottle & Lewis associate
  • Hannah Griffiths, All3Media head of library acquisitions
  • Kate Gunning, Penguin Random House independent retailers partnership manager
  • Daniel Hahn, writer, translator
  • Anwen Hooson, Bird Literary Agency founder
  • Anna Jean Hughes, Pigeonhole co-founder, freelance editor
  • Helgard Krause, CEO, Welsh Books Council
  • Joseph Knox, author
  • Douglas McCabe, CEO, Enders Analysis
  • Samantha Rayner, director, UCL Centre for Publishing
  • Amanda Ridout, founding CEO, Boldwood Books
  • Charlotte Robertson, Robertson Murray Literary Agency managing director, agent
  • Chris Sands, The Good Company
  • Nicola Tuxworth, Cheltenham Literature Festival head of programming
  • Kate Worlock, Outsell Education and Training vice-president, lead analyst

More information about the British Book Awards and about each juror is available here.

More from Publishing Perspectives on the British Book Awards is here, and more on publishing prizes in general is here.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter

Porter Anderson has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with, CNN International, and CNN USA. As an arts critic (Fellow, National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.