Industry Notes: Germany’s Buchtrailer Awards and the UK’s Republic of Consciousness

In News by Porter Anderson

This is the second year for Germany’s Buchtrailer Awards and the third year for the UK’s Republic of Consciousness Prize for small presses. Both niche programs have opened for submissions.

Image – iStockphoto: Guru Xoox

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

Book Trailer Deadline: September 30
Having premiered its Deutsche Buchtrailer Award program last year, the annual Future! Publish conference produced by Literaturtest in Berlin has announced a second year of the prize program.

The program is now open for entries, with a submission deadline of September 30.

Authors, publishers, bookstores, and production companies are eligible to submit entries, as long as they are from German-language countries. An entry must have been created since January 1 of this year, and cannot be more than one minute in length

Operated again under sponsorship from the Börsenverein des deutschen Buchhandels (Germany’s association of publishers and booksellers), the program this year will have its shortlist announced at the Frankfurter Buchmesse (October 10 to 14).

The shortlist last year wasn’t that short—it comprised 30 book trailers—but represented a vast range of visual interpretation of literary promotional themes and concepts.

This year’s jury features:

  • Film producer and author Wolfgang Mueller  (“Barry Films”)
  • Marketing director of the Yorck  cinema group Daniel Sibbers
  • Ilke Sayan  of  “Book Stories”
  • Stefan Geisler from the film criticism blog  “CinemaForever”
  • Jakob Schmidt,  a graduate of the Film University Babelsberg onrad Wolf

The conference itself, at which the book trailer prize is conferred, is set for January 24 and 25 in Berlin, and is expected to again draw some 300 attendees.

The winning trailer will be shown for one week in all 12 cinemas of the Yorck cinema group, the largest cinema operator in Berlin. This screening package has a market value of some €5,000 (US$5,689).

Producers of the second-place winning book trailer receive a voucher for the production and distribution of a LiteraturfilmExpress book trailer service worth €800.

Prizes for the third, fourth, and fifth place winners is a voucher for the distribution of a trailer on a variety of “bookaffin” Internet platforms worth €300.

Partners in the book trailer award include the publisher Duotincta and the Berlin-Brandenburg Association of the German Book Trade.

More information on the Future! Publish program and the Buchtrailer Awards is here.

Small Press Deadline: November 30

As reported during its award ceremony in March, the artfully named Republic of Consciousness Small Press Prize is opening a third year of activity, having been created by author Neil Griffiths in 2016 to honor “brave and bold literary fiction” produced by independent houses from the UK and Ireland.

Its winner in March was the independent publisher Influx Press for the house’s May 2017 publication of the much acclaimed short story collection Attrib. and Other Stories by author Eley Williams.

The awards program this year has attracted the sponsorship of the University of East Anglia’s UAE Publishing Project. That program will host the shortlist announcement in March 2019 during a symposium on small presses and contemporary fiction. The university is also making a financial contribution to the program and will provide three jurors.

That jury comprises:

  • Catherine Taylor, a journalist who is a founder and member of the Rathbones-Folio Prize Academy
  • David Collard, an author and freelancer
  • Niven Govinden, an author of four novels to date, most recently All The Days And Nights (The Friday Project) which was longlisted for the Folio Prize
  • A single vote will also be contributed by those UAE Publishing Project MA creative writing students

Submissions must be received by November 30. The longlist is to be published by January 21. The shortlist announcement is set for March 2. And the winner is to be announced in late March, with a hard date yet to be fixed.

This year’s prize program will see the effort reach a total of £30,000 (US$38,133) in award money over three years.

More from Publishing Perspectives on awards programs is here.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter

Porter Anderson has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with, CNN International, and CNN USA. As an arts critic (Fellow, National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.