France Announces More Authors and Program Highlights for its Frankfurt Appearance

In News by Porter Anderson

At the Leipzig Book Fair, France presented more names of authors who will take part in the Frankfurt auf Französisch program.

During a press conference at the Leipzig Book Fair, more details were given about France’s Guest of Honor program at the Frankfurt Book Fair 2017

By Porter Anderson, Editor-in-Chief | @Porter_Anderson

Preview of ‘Francfort en Français

At a press conference during the Leipzig Book Fair this week, the organizers of France’s Guest of Honor program at the upcoming Frankfurt Book Fair presented more details about how they will showcase French literature and culture in October, as well as an updated list of authors invited to Frankfurt.

Press conference speakers included Paul de Sinety, Commissioner-General for France’ Guest of Honor at the Frankfurt Book Fair; Juergen Boos, Director of the Frankfurt Book Fair; Catherine Briat, Director of the Institut français Germany; and Jean-Marc Ayrault, French Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Development.

Boos and de Sinety have announced a newly added round of names to the list of French-speaking authors slated to participate in France’s Guest of Honor program, which is named Francfort en français / Frankfurt auf Französisch.

Nobel Prize winner Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio is on the list of authors participating in France’s Guest of Honor program at the Frankfurt Book Fair.

In a prepared statement, Boos is quoted, saying, “French-speaking contemporary literature has many origins. In a few months, we will welcome authors to Frankfurt, authors who call different parts of the world their home.

“They were born in Europe, the Middle East, North Africa, and North America. However, they all have found their ‘intellectual home’ in the French language.

“At Frankfurter Buchmesse we will take part in a vivid exchange that will move beyond borders.”

And speaking for the extensive cultural program that France is devising for October, de Sinety is quoted, saying, “With a strong representation of crime writers in Leipzig, numerous authors who have been invited to Germany—and with this announcement of more writers who will be present at Frankfurter Buchmesse—we present our whole literary spectrum to the German public.

“I’m happy about current discussions on children’s books, graphic novels, humanities, poetry and literature, and I’m looking forward to those to come.”

A previous announcement of Francophone authors for the program is covered by Publishing Perspectives here.

From left, Francophone authors Zep (Philippe Chappuis), Émilie de Turckheim, and Michel Bussi are among those participating in October’s French Guest of Honor program at Frankfurt Book Fair.

Francophone Authors Announced at Leipzig
  • Zeina Abichared
  • Albertine
  • Ramona Badescu
  • Pénélope Bagieu
  • Jean-Christophe Bailly
  • Rachid Benzine
  • Stephanie Blake
  • Jean-Marie Blas de Roblès
  • Jean-Philippe Blondel
  • Christophe Boltanski
  • Anne-Laure Bondoux
  • Marc Boutavant
  • Michel Bussi
  • Roland Buti
  • Olivier Cadiot
  • Hélène Carrère d’Encausse
  • Barbara Cassin
  • Hélène Cixous
  • Didier Conrad
  • Kitty Crowther
  • Boris Cyrulnik
  • Kamel Daoud
  • Guy Delisle, Jean-Paul Didierlaurent
  • Sophie Divry
  • Didier Eribon
  • Didier Fassin
  • Christine Féret-Fleury
  • Jean-Yves Ferri
  • Michaël Foessel
  • Thimothée de Fombelle
  • Etienne François
  • Emmanuel Guibert
  • Michel Houellebecq
  • Nancy Huston
  • Joseph Incardona
  • Laurent Jeanpierre
  • Maylis de Kerangal
  • Yasmina Khadra
  • Pascale Kramer
  • Julia Kristeva
  • Catherine Mille
  • Benjamin Lacombe
  • Fouad Laroui
  • Bruno Latour
  • Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio
  • Sabri Louatah
  • Douna Loup
  • Wilfrid Lupano
  • Edouard Manceau
  • Kettly Mars
  • Mathias Menegoz
  • Catherine Meurisse
  • Pierre Michon
  • Catherine Millet
  • Céline Minard
  • Marie NDiaye
  • Aurélie Neyret
  • Frédéric Pajak
  • Anne Percin
  • Léonor de Récondo
  • Yasmina Reza
  • Mathieu Riboulet
  • Thomas Römer
  • Olivier Rolin
  • Daniel de Roulet
  • Riad Sattouf
  • Émilie de Turckheim
  • Marie-Jeanne Urech
  • David Vandermeulen
  • Delphine de Vigan
  • Frédéric Worms
  • Yoann (Chivard)
  • Valérie Zenatti
  • Zep (Philippe Chappuis) and
  • Germano Zullo

From left, more authors—Catherine Millet, Yasmina Khadra, and Nancy Huston—are among those participating in October’s French Guest of Honor program at Frankfurt Book Fair.

Overall, the France Guest of Honor program will see more than 450 events staged during the year, featuring a total of more than 75 authors. One event, an authors’ ‘Tour d’Allemagne,’ starts in Dusseldorf where the Tour de France begins.

More information is coming on the French program for Frankfurt.

About the Author

Porter Anderson

Facebook Twitter

Porter Anderson has been named International Trade Press Journalist of the Year in London Book Fair's International Excellence Awards. He is Editor-in-Chief of Publishing Perspectives. He formerly was Associate Editor for The FutureBook at London's The Bookseller. Anderson was for more than a decade a senior producer and anchor with, CNN International, and CNN USA. As an arts critic (Fellow, National Critics Institute), he was with The Village Voice, the Dallas Times Herald, and the Tampa Tribune, now the Tampa Bay Times. He co-founded The Hot Sheet, a newsletter for authors, which now is owned and operated by Jane Friedman.