EU Prize for Literature Winners on Display in Frankfurt

In News by Hannah Johnson

european union prize for literature

By Hannah Johnson

For the last seven years, the European Union Prize for Literature has recognized new and emerging authors throughout Europe with the goal of facilitating international attention for their books and encouraging translation into other European languages.

This year for the first time, the 12 winners were announced earlier in the year, at the London Book Fair. “Announcing the winners in the spring will provide more time for properly promoting them for the Frankfurt Book Fair and the Holiday Season in bookshops,” said said Kyra Dreher, Jean-Luc Treutenaere and Fabian Paagman, Co-Presidents of the European Booksellers Federation.

Visitors to the Frankfurt Book Fair can visit a new photo exhibition that showcases the 2015 EUPL winners, located in the foyer of Hall 4.0 (on the left-hand side as you enter from the Agora).

The 2015 EUPL winners are:

  • Carolina Schutti (Austria)
  • Luka Bekavac (Croatia)
  • Gaëlle Josse (France)
  • Edina Szvoren (Hungary)
  • Donal Ryan (Ireland)
  • Lorenzo Amurri (Italy)
  • Undinė Radzevičiūtė (Lithuania)
  • Ida Hegazi Høyer (Norway)
  • Magdalena Parys (Poland)
  • David Machado (Portugal)
  • Svetlana Žuchová (Slovakia)
  • Sara Stridsberg (Sweden)

The prize is open to authors from countries participating in Creative Europe, a cultural funding program. Each winner receives 4,000 euros and international publishers who buy rights to these authors’ works are encouraged to apply for translation funding from the EU.

This post is sponsored by the Frankfurt Book Fair.

About the Author

Hannah Johnson


Hannah Johnson is the Publisher of Publishing Perspectives. Before joining PP in 2009, she worked as Project Manager at the German Book Office New York.