GBO Book of the Month: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

In German Buch News by Hannah Johnson

The German Book Office New York presents its July 2011 Book of the Month: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier, translated from the German by Anthea Bell and published on May 1, 2011 by Henry Holt Books for Young Readers.

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

Ruby Red is the young adult novel debut for German author Kerstin Gier. Filled with the perfect combination of romance, intrigue, time travel, and humor, it takes readers on a journey through the past, present, and an unusual family history. When we meet sixteen-year-old Gwen, she is living with her extended—and eccentric—family in a present day, exclusive London neighborhood. She’s had a relatively normal life so far, in spite of her ancestors’ peculiar past. The time-traveling gene that runs like a secret thread through the female half of the family is supposed to have skipped Gwen. So it comes as an unwelcome surprise when she starts taking sudden leaps into the past.

Gwen is totally unprepared for time travel, not to mention all that comes with it: fancy clothes, archaic manners, a mysterious secret society, and Gideon, her time-traveling counterpart. He’s obnoxious, a know-it-all, and possibly the best-looking guy she’s seen in any century.

With a relatable heroine and humorous charm, RUBY RED tells a beautiful love story and takes its readers on an unexpected and exciting journey. It fits right into the young adult category while also providing great crossover (adult) appeal.

Ruby Red is the first book in a trilogy (Sapphire Blue and Emerald Green to follow) and is already an international bestseller. It’s ideal for fans of The Time Traveler’s Wife, the Inkworld trilogy by Cornelia Funke (also translated by Anthea Bell) and A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray.

For more information, email the German Book Office New York at post@newyork.gbo.org or call Brittany Hazelwood at +1-212-794-2851. You can also connect with the GBO on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/GBONewYork.

About the Author

Hannah Johnson

Twitter

Hannah Johnson is the publisher of international book industry magazine Publishing Perspectives, which provides daily information and news about book markets around the world. In addition to building partnerships with international cultural and trade organizations, she works with the Frankfurt Book Fair to organize and support a number of its overseas initiatives. Hannah has also worked as the managing editor for an online media company, The Hooch Life, focused on craft distillers and cocktail experts. Prior to that, she worked as a project manager for the Frankfurt Book Fair’s New York office, managing various business and marketing activities.