Chinese, Lebanese Writers Among Finalists for Man Booker International Prize

In What's the Buzz by Edward Nawotka

The finalists for the biennial Man Booker International Prize have been announced. The winner — who receives £60,000 pounds — will be announced at the Sydney Writers Festival on May 18. Unlike the Booker prize, the award is open to living authors writing in English or those whose works are generally available in an English translation. If applicable, the winner can opt to share £15,000 with his or her translator.

The prize was inaugurated in 2005 and has had three winners in all: Albania’s Ismail Kadare (2005), Nigeria’s Chinua Achebe (2007) and Canada’s Alice Munro (2009).

The lucky 13 who have been longlisted for this year’s award are:

Wang Anyi (China)
Juan Goytisolo (Spain)
James Kelman (UK)
John le Carre (UK)
Amin Maalouf (Lebanon)
David Malouf (Australia)
Dacia Maraini (Italy)
Rohinton Mistry (India/Canada)
Philip Pullman (UK)
Marilynne Robinson (US)
Philip Roth (US)
Su Tong (China)
Anne Tyler (US)

Shortly after the announcement John le Carre asked to be taken out of the competition. A decision is pending.

About the Author

Edward Nawotka

A widely published critic and essayist, Edward Nawotka serves as a speaker, educator and consultant for institutions and businesses involved in the global publishing and content industries. He was also editor-in-chief of Publishing Perspectives since the launch of the publication in 2009 until January 2016.