2010 Arab American Book Award Winners

In Arabic Publishing by Edward Nawotka

Arab American Book Prize

By Edward Nawotka

The  winners of the 2010 Arab American Book Award presented by the Arab American National Museum are:

Fiction: Master of the Eclipse by Etel Adnan (Interlink)

Non-Fiction: Angeleno Days: An Arab American Writer on Family, Place, and Politics by Gregory Orfalea (University of Arizona Press)

Poetry: Diary of a Wave Outside the Sea: Poetry and Stories from Iraq by Dunya Mikhail (New Directions)

Honorable Mentions (Non-Fiction) ; Amreeka: Arab Voices, American Stories by Alia Malek (Free Press) and Homeland Insecurity: The Arab American and Muslim American Experience After 9/11 by Louise A. Cainkar (Russell Sage Foundation)

The four-year old book prize intends to draw attention to writers covering the Arab-American experience. This year’s award ceremony ceremony will be held on Monday, October 4 at the Carnegie Institution, 1530 P Street NW in Washington, D.C.

For more information about the winning titles see: http://www.arabamericanmuseum.org/2010.book.award.winners

About the Author

Edward Nawotka

A widely published critic and essayist, Edward Nawotka serves as a speaker, educator and consultant for institutions and businesses involved in the global publishing and content industries. He was also editor-in-chief of Publishing Perspectives since the launch of the publication in 2009 until January 2016.