Hachette Dominates UK’s Bookseller Industry Awards

In Global Trade Talk by Edward Nawotka

Bookseller Industry Awards

By Edward Nawotka

Last night in London the first annual Bookseller Industry Awards (which  combines the Bookseller’s own trade awards with the old Nibbies) were given.

Hachette, still reaping rewards for publishing Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series, took home three prizes and saw its Little, Brown imprint take home “Publisher of the Year.” Foyle’s won “General or Trade Bookseller of the Year.”

The Bookseller has full coverage.

The full list of winners follows.

Sue Butterworth Young Bookseller of the Year – Clare Boothby, Waterstone’s

Frankfurt Book Fair Rights Professional of the Year – Graham Cook, Haynes

PPC Publicity Campaign of the Year – Joe Pickering, Penguin

IBS Bookmaster Innovation in the Publishing Supply Chain – Hachette UK’s
Print Direct Delivery Solution

Walker Books Children’s Independent Bookseller – Mainstreet Trading Company,
St Boswells

Wiley Manager of the Year – Steve Orchard, Blackwell Charing Cross Road

Orion Literary Agent of the Year – Luigi Bonomi, LBA

The Bookseller Imprint and Editor of the Year – Lennie Goodings, Virago

BDS Direct Bookselling Company of the Year – The Book Depository

Futurebook Digital Innovation of the Year – HarperCollins – authonomy.com

Usborne Children’s Bookseller of the Year – W H Smith

Nielsen Marketing Campaign of the Year – Quercus – Stieg Larsson’s Millennium trilogy

Gardners Books Independent Bookseller of the Year – One Tree Books, Petersfield

Lightning Source Independent Publisher of the Year – John Blake

Martina Cole General or Chain Bookselling Company of the Year – Foyles

Publishing Technology Publisher of the Year – Little, Brown

About the Author

Edward Nawotka

A widely published critic and essayist, Edward Nawotka serves as a speaker, educator and consultant for institutions and businesses involved in the global publishing and content industries. He was also editor-in-chief of Publishing Perspectives since the launch of the publication in 2009 until January 2016.