Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Regional Winners

In What's the Buzz by Edward Nawotka

Commonwealth Foundation

By Edward Nawotka

The regional winners for this year’s Commonwealth Writers’ Prize have been announced and are:


Adaobi Tricia Nwaubeni from Nigeria won Best First Book for I Do Not Come to You by Chance and Marie Heese from South Africa won Best Book for The Double Crown.

Caribbean and Canada

Shandi Mitchell from Canada won Best First Book for Under This Unbroken Sky and Michael Crummey from Canada won Best Book for Galore.

South Asia and Europe

Daniyal Mueenuddin from Pakistan won Best First Book for In Other Rooms, Other Wonders and Rana Dasgupta from the UK won Best Book for Solo.

South East Asia and Pacific

Glenda Guest from Australia won Best First Book for Siddon Rock and Albert Wendt from Samoa won Best Book for The Adventures of Vela.

Two overall winners for “Best Book,” which offers a £10,000 cash prize, and “Best First Book,” which offers a £5,000 cash prize, will be announced on April 12 in Delhi, India.

About the Author

Edward Nawotka

A widely published critic and essayist, Edward Nawotka serves as a speaker, educator and consultant for institutions and businesses involved in the global publishing and content industries. He was also editor-in-chief of Publishing Perspectives since the launch of the publication in 2009 until January 2016.