The 2010 Books for a Better Life Award Winners

In What's the Buzz by Edward Nawotka

By Chris Artis

Books for a Better Life

On the evening of February 22, the 14th annual Books for a Better Life Awards were announced at a ceremony held at the Millennium Broadway Hotel in New York. Each year, the Southern New York Chapter of the National MS Society recognizes the best self-improvement books of the year, and to date the Books for a Better Life Awards have raised more than $1.6 million for the New York City — Southern New York Chapter’s comprehensive support services and educational programs for people living with MS, their friends and families. The awards were hosted by Robin Roberts, co-host of ABC News’s “Good Morning America.” Carolyn Reidy, president and CEO of Simon & Schuster was inducted into the Books for a Better Life Hall of Fame, and Cami Walker, author of “29 Gifts: How a Month of Giving Can Change Your Life” was named the MS Awareness Award winner.

Below are the winners of the 2009 Books for a Better Life:

Childcare and Parenting: NutureShock by Po Bronson & Ashley Merryman (Twelve/Hachette Book Group)
First Book: Josie’s Story by Sorrel King (Grove/Atlantic, Inc.)
Green: Just Food by James E. McWilliams (Little, Brown and Company)
Inspirational: Strength in What Remains by Tracy Kidder (Random House)
Motivational: Throw Out Fifty Things by Gail Blanke (Grand Central Publishing)
Personal Finance: The Difference by Jean Chatzky (The Crown Publishing Group)
Relationships: You Were Always Mom’s Favorite by Deborah Tannen (Random House)
Spiritual: Writing in the Sand by Thomas Moore (Hay House)
Wellness: The End of Overeating by David A. Kessler, MD (Rodale Publishing)

About the Author

Edward Nawotka

A widely published critic and essayist, Edward Nawotka serves as a speaker, educator and consultant for institutions and businesses involved in the global publishing and content industries. He was also editor-in-chief of Publishing Perspectives since the launch of the publication in 2009 until January 2016.