« German Buch News

GBO Book of the Month: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

The German Book Office New York presents its July 2011 Book of the Month: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier, translated from the German by Anthea Bell and published on May 1, 2011 by Henry Holt Books for Young Readers.

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

Ruby Red is the young adult novel debut for German author Kerstin Gier. Filled with the perfect combination of romance, intrigue, time travel, and humor, it takes readers on a journey through the past, present, and an unusual family history. When we meet sixteen-year-old Gwen, she is living with her extended—and eccentric—family in a present day, exclusive London neighborhood. She’s had a relatively normal life so far, in spite of her ancestors’ peculiar past. The time-traveling gene that runs like a secret thread through the female half of the family is supposed to have skipped Gwen. So it comes as an unwelcome surprise when she starts taking sudden leaps into the past.

Gwen is totally unprepared for time travel, not to mention all that comes with it: fancy clothes, archaic manners, a mysterious secret society, and Gideon, her time-traveling counterpart. He’s obnoxious, a know-it-all, and possibly the best-looking guy she’s seen in any century.

With a relatable heroine and humorous charm, RUBY RED tells a beautiful love story and takes its readers on an unexpected and exciting journey. It fits right into the young adult category while also providing great crossover (adult) appeal.

Ruby Red is the first book in a trilogy (Sapphire Blue and Emerald Green to follow) and is already an international bestseller. It’s ideal for fans of The Time Traveler’s Wife, the Inkworld trilogy by Cornelia Funke (also translated by Anthea Bell) and A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray.

For more information, email the German Book Office New York at post@newyork.gbo.org or call Brittany Hazelwood at +1-212-794-2851. You can also connect with the GBO on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/GBONewYork.

This entry was posted in German Buch News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

One Comment

  1. mikeila
    Posted December 16, 2011 at 1:42 pm | Permalink

    how can i get sapphire blue in english before it comes out?

  • Get Publishing Perspectives in your inbox each day and stay up-to-date on international publishing.